BJP will win 202 seats in Uttar Pradesh assembly election, predicts Times Now-VMR survey

NEW DELHI: The BJP will return to power in Uttar Pradesh with a simple majority, according to a Times Now-VMR survey.

According to the survey, the BJP will win 202 seats in the 403-member assembly with a voteshare of 34 per cent. In 2012, the BJP had managed 155 seats.

The Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance, launched with much hope and fanfare, will manage only 147 seats, down 105 seats from the last assembly elections. The alliance will poll 31 per cent of the voteshare.
Mayawati’s BSP, which has fielded Muslims in a big way, will have to contend with only 47 seats with a voteshare of 24%. This is 33 less than what she had managed in 2012.

The others which includes the Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal will get 11 per cent of voteshare and 7 seats.

The survey also concluded that SP’s Akhilesh Yadav is the most popular chief minister face in the state with the backing of 39 per cent of the electorate.

Mayawati with 23 per cent support is second in this race, followed by BJP’s Yogi Adityanath who has 16 per cent of backing.

Prime Minister NArendra Modi’s demonetisation move has got a big thumbs up in the state, with 63.4 per cent of people saying that the move is good for India.
31.9 per cent feel the move to demonetise high currency notes is not a good move.

To Top